Week 8: Bugs

by whiteoxeye

To be honest, I don’t know much about viruses and malware.

See, in all my life, my dad has been the one taking care of all these things. You know, Norton Antivirus etc. I only knew that when you buy a computer, there are 2 other things you will definitely need. Microsoft Office and Norton Antivirus.

I knew that computers get sick, but I don’t know why or how. Then as I grew older, school introduced me to cheeky boys. Cheeky boys who well, you know, surfed the web and watched… stuff. They were the one who I learnt what trojans are.

Then, came year 2000. All the talks about Y2K and stuff. The Millennium bug, as they call it.

Up until this point, all I knew was that computer viruses kills the computer. I didn’t know which viruses did what. Obviously, I didn’t think it was all that important, so I didn’t bother to find out.

Soon enough, I got my very own laptop and I didn’t need to care about viruses, nor did I need any antivirus software. Can you guess why?

Oh yeah.

I got a Macbook Pro. 🙂

So, I have never gotten attacked by any worms or viruses. I never needed to spend extra for antivirus softwares.

Here’s what I learnt in class.

Virus is a programming code that enters your computer system stealthily to corrupt or destroy your data.

The trojan I mentioned earlier? If viruses have personality, boy is this trojan a hypocrite. It disguises as a benign application, it can claim to be an antivirus, but in fact, it introduces viruses to your computer. See what hypocrites trojans are?

To conclude, I thought I’d share with you why Mac users need not worry about viruses.

See, Macintosh and all other PCs are quite different. If they were people, they would be people from different regions of the world. They speak a different language.

As for the majority of the viruses out there, their targets are mostly for PCs. Why, you ask. From what I understand, most businesses use PCs for their day-to-day operations and these businesses are mostly the targets of the people who writes viruses. More than that, most of the population use a PC, so it does make more sense to code a virus that attacks more people.

So a PC’s virus to a Macintosh would be like… playing the lute to a cow.

Of course, there are bound to be some viruses that attack the Macintosh but in the 23 years I’ve walked this earth, I’ve yet to  hear a mac user being attacked by any viruses.

Okaythanksbye.

